Sporting’s opinion on the title issue will be voted on by the FPF AG – Sporting

Sporting’s opinion on the title issue has been voted on at the FPF’s general meeting, which will take place on June 29. The document was not part of the agenda but was included at the request of Francisco Salgado Zenha and Miguel Nogueira Leite, FPF AG delegates and members of Sporting’s board of directors. The lions’ opinion is endorsed by Diogo Ramada Curto and Bernardo Pinto da Cruz. The lions consider that the Campeonato de Portugal (CP), organized between 1921 and 1938 in a knockout format, was the most important event on the calendar, therefore a precursor of the League and not of the Portuguese Cup, therefore its winner would be the full national champion. A status which, on the other hand, should be withdrawn from the clubs having won the Experimental League (LE), between 1934 and 1938.

In this scenario, Sporting would add four titles to history (1922/23, 1933/34, 1935/36 and 1937/38). Benfica would keep the 37 (losing three in LE and adding three in CP), while FC Porto would total 32 instead of 29 (one less in LE and three more in CP) and Belenenses four instead of one ( collected three CP). In the list of champions, in addition to Boavista, Olhanense, Marítimo and Carcavelinhos would also be on the list.

Neither of the two opinions which were already on the agenda of the AG of the FPF satisfied the claims of Sporting. The decision will be made by the delegates of the district associations, class and other members (League included). The FPF has never publicly expressed its own position on the matter. “It is a subject on which I will not vote (…). But Sporting and all the other clubs deserve that the General Assembly, supported by academic opinions, decides”, declared Fernando Gomes in an interview at RegistrationFebruary 25.

The club put the topic on the agenda in 2016, under manager Bruno de Carvalho. On December 17, 2020, Frederico Varandas delivered a “historic and independent opinion” to the FPF, prepared by Diogo Ramada Curto and Bernardo Pinto Cruz, researchers at the Portuguese Institute of International Relations, based on research by Paulo Almeida, a responsible for Sporting. . In May, the club celebrated not the 19th but the 23rd title in its history, as was visible, for example, on the bus that transported the team. This is the information Sporting uses in all references to the subject.

competing opinions

Sporting’s two competing opinions offer different points of view.

Opinion 1 (by Amândio Barros, Manuel Janeira, Ricardo Pereira and Sílvia Alves) argues that the winners of the Portuguese Championship (CP) between 1921-22 and 1933-34 should be considered national champions and adds that this does not is that from 1934-35 that the CP can be considered the predecessor of the Portuguese Cup, since the so-called “Campeonato das Ligas” starts from this season (there are now two competitions considered de national scope). In this scenario, three more titles would be awarded to FC Porto and Belenenses, two to Sporting and Benfica and one to Olhanense, Marítimo and Carcavelinhos. The history of the Portuguese Cup would be enriched with two more trophies for Sporting and one for Benfica and FC Porto.

Opinion 2 (Francisco Pinheiro) maintains that the Portuguese Championship is the predecessor of the Portuguese Cup, while the ‘Campeonato das Ligas’ preceded the national championship. Thus, the table of champions would be unchanged. The list of Portuguese Cup winners would include four more for Sporting and FC Porto, three more for Benfica and Belenenses and one for Olhanense, Marítimo and Carcavelinhos.

Leave a Comment